Review for Clamp No Kiseki Volume 10

1

Yes, this is that book that is in an annoying clam shell and you can’t look through it before buying. It’s pretty pricey too, and I couldn’t find a single preview or anything online, so I decided to buy one and make one myself, for those who aren’t sure if they want to buy it or not.

2!

Here’s the cover. I got the one that had the series I already knew and loved so there wouldn’t be any… surprises. I’m going to be a bit biased, considering that I am a CLAMP fan ❤

3!

So you open it up and you see a small gallery of art from xxxHolic, and sadly, besides a few other colored images, that’s pretty much all you get. At first glance, I thought this would be like, an art book, especially looking at the price, but it’s not. There is a small interview with CLAMP about where they talk about Yuko and Watanuki.

4!

Here’s a tiny goody, it’s an image they didn’t put out to the public, but it comes exclusively in the book.

5!

So this is what you get when you actually get down to it. Though I’m a CLAMP fan, this disappointed me a bit. I wanted more art and less background.

6!

Haha, there’s wonderful Yuko and her disaster ridden face!

7!

And then we go in to the section for Legal Drug, an unfinished story by Clamp. I just finished reading the third and last one they came out with, and really, any CLAMP fan should pick it up. The characters are very familiar, and are quite similar to Watanuki and Doumeki.

8!

Except they’re a bit more… forward with each other, haha!

9!

You get the background on them and it follows the format the xxxHolic section went in. Really nice if you’re a fan of the series!

10!

Then it goes in to a small interview with CLAMP about Legal Drug, just like xxxHolic. I love reading how they talk, how they agree and how they disagree all in one discussion! I think that was the neatest part of the whole book.

11!

Then there’s a fan comic by Kazuki Yamamoto, an artist whose series runs in Weekly Shonen Magazine. He draws CLAMP and it made me pretty happy. We don’t know much about CLAMP, but this guy’s actually seen them, and had champagne together, apparently! I think this is as close as we’ll get to seeing them.

12!

I’M SO JEALOUS. I want to drink champagne with CLAMP ;-;

13!

Then we get a fan comic by CLAMP themselves! Not as amazing as it sounds though ;-; Very cute drawings that are kind of remind me of Kero from Cardcaptor Sakura, but you know… it’s no Tsubasa. And I love their cute little chibi versions ;0; You can tell the girls were having fun when they made these!

14!

Two interviews with the editor of Chobits, Cardcaptor Sakura and The Legend of Chun Hyang. They share their experience of working on a team with CLAMP. That’s pretty much the end of the book. Not a lot of material, more background information, and of coarse some lovely words from CLAMP themselves!

15!

The book came with three Chess Pieces: Yuko from xxxHolic, Fai and Mokona from Tsubasa. I was lucky that the one book that had the series I loved also had my favorite characters from the other series! I believe Yuko is the only anime female I found to not be… like the other ones. She treats Watanuki like a man slave. I love and adore her.

16!

Yuko telling Fai and Mokona to go do something. Too bad they probably aren’t as willing as darling Watanuki. Wanted to get an angle for Fai so you can see his coat.

17!

A close up!

18!

Fai by himself. This is the closest to anime figures I think I’ll ever get, so I probably had more fun than necessary, haha!

19!

Cute little Mokona. I can’t tell which one is the boy and which is the girl, but from the sub, I think the black Mokona is the girl and the white one is a boy.

20!

and wrapping up the post is Yuko!

Overall, this book is good if you’re a fan of the series listed, so you can get background info on the series. But it’s not an art book, and for most, probably not worth 20 dollars. But hey, if you’re a fan, go ahead and splurge, the cute drawings of CLAMP are reason enough!

2 responses to “Review for Clamp No Kiseki Volume 10

  1. Ah Clamp, Classic anime comes out from them…
    Really nice review you did…

    To answer your email that you sent me a few days ago… I added your blog to my blogroll…sorry it took so long to reply…

  2. TYVM! I wasn’t sure what exactly you get in theese :]
    Its a shame they don’t give you a chess board

Leave a Reply

